Broadband-Hamnet™ Forum :: Hardware
Welcome Guest   [Register]  [Login]
 Subject :Flash Memory Upgrade.. 2012-04-25- 03:27:39 
WK5DX
Member
Joined: 2012-01-13- 00:46:47
Posts: 10
Location: NW Houston
 

Is anyone doing Flash upgrades to WRT54G v5+ ?

I understand that Micronics makes a 4MB flash module that is pin compatible for the WRT54G.


It is also possible to replace the 2 MB flash chip in the WRT54G with a 4 MB flash chip. The Macronix International 29LV320BTC-90 is a suitable part although others may work as well. The user must first install a JTAG header and use a JTAG cable to back up the firmware, then replace the chip and restore the firmware with the JTAG cable. After testing for proper functionality of the modified unit, third-party firmware can be flashed using the JTAG cable and a suitable image file.

Any hardware hackers that can help would be appreciated.

IP Logged
Last Edited On: 2012-04-25- 03:30:03 By WK5DX for the Reason
 Subject :Re:Flash Memory Upgrade.. 2012-05-01- 10:00:25 
WK5DX
Member
Joined: 2012-01-13- 00:46:47
Posts: 10
Location: NW Houston
 
Has anyone had success doing this mod?
IP Logged
 Subject :Re:Flash Memory Upgrade.. 2012-09-03- 16:44:31 
N8OHU
Member
Joined: 2012-01-02- 22:09:40
Posts: 12
Location
I'm thinking about doing this with a WRT54G v8, as well as a few other mods I'm seeing here; the one I found at a flea market was a deal that was too good to pass up (I spent $10 on two routers, only one of which was a Linksys).
IP Logged
 Subject :Re:Flash Memory Upgrade.. 2012-09-09- 12:22:35 
WB3EMQ
Member
Joined: 2012-01-24- 12:30:27
Posts: 1
Location: Sarasota Fl. 34241
I am IPC 610 certified solderer for serface mount and through hole packages. I am also rework certified. If I can be of assistance please contact me. My question is do you have the part # for the 4 meg memory chip?
IP Logged
Email address: george-morgan@juno.com
 Subject :Re:Flash Memory Upgrade.. 2013-09-14- 23:05:05 
K5HMY
Member
Joined: 2012-05-23- 14:42:45
Posts: 13
Location
There has been several articles on the web for upgrades. On Ebay there was a guy selling modified units with a higher price tag. In other words it is possible. The one article had a special disordering paste to help remove the memory chips. I think that you must have the special disordering / soldering equipment. Then there is the problem of alignment of the small pins. A magnifying glass would seem to be a must. A temperature controlled iron would also seem to be a must. I would use old circuit boards to practice on before going into a unit I wanted to modify.
IP Logged
 Subject :Re:Flash Memory Upgrade.. 2013-10-29- 11:37:23 
KD8USI
Member
Joined: 2013-08-08- 23:57:50
Posts: 13
Location

maybe a better way to go http://www.yourwarrantyisvoid.com/2009/09/09/add-an-sd-card-slot-to-a-wrt54g-v2/

Just keep in mind that it works with sd-cards <2gb, as over 2gb is SDHC.

IP Logged
Last Edited On: 2013-10-29- 11:38:27 By KD8USI for the Reason
 Subject :Re:Flash Memory Upgrade.. 2013-10-29- 16:02:53 
KF5JIM
Future Astronaut
Joined: 2013-07-17- 12:13:36
Posts: 250
Location: Nederland

Just keep in mind that it works with sd-cards <2gb, as over 2gb is SDHC>.

I've written an article on getting SDHC cards working and have compiled driver to get them mounted and writable. Take a look here:
http://hsmm-mesh.org/hsmm-mesh-forums/view-postlist/forum-2-hardware/topic-253-wrt54g-tm-mmhcsdhc-card-support.html

Just keep in mind that BBHN cannot be loaded on anything over v4 routers. As these routers use vxworks. Even if you upgrade the memory, you still have to find a work around for vxworks (which can be painful).
http://hsmm-mesh.org/section-blog/37-hardware-faqs/101-supported-hardware.html

IP Logged
Last Edited On: 2013-10-29- 16:03:52 By KF5JIM for the Reason
My opinions and views expressed here are solely my own.
 Subject :Re:Flash Memory Upgrade.. 2017-03-28- 22:51:00 
kg7mkw
Member
Joined: 2016-08-08- 00:54:22
Posts: 1
Location
OK excuse me if I'm wrong but can't you do the memory upgrade the use the vxworks killer like you are loading ddrwt and flash in bbhn from there not sure if it would work but is an idea
IP Logged
Page # 


Powered by ccBoard


SPONSORED AD: