Broadband-Hamnet™ Forum :: Problems & Answers
Welcome Guest   [Register]  [Login]
 Subject :Restoring Linksys firmware on a node.. 2015-01-12- 19:29:45 
AE5CA
Member
Joined: 2012-05-19- 21:52:33
Posts: 81
Location

There have been several people asking how to restore the Linksys firmware to their nodes.  I have successfully done it may times.  This ability is not available in the Administration screen due the limitations in the Linksys User Agreement for the firmware.  Basically the Linksys Firmware is copyrighted and the Linksys does not permit others to distribute their firmware.

What this means to the BBHN user trying to return a node to factory firmware is they need to go to http://linksys.com go into the support sections and download the firmware for your make a version of node.  When you download the firmware, make sure you note where on your computer you put it.

The basics of how to upload the firmware are covered in the bottom of the Linksys firmware installation instructions at http://www.broadband-hamnet.org/documentation/68-firmware-installation-instructions.html.

The basics of installing the factory firmware on your node are:

  1. Download the firmware from the Linksys Web site.
  2. If you have not already done so enable TFTP on your computer.  To enable TFTP open Control Panel > Programs and Features > click Turn Windows features On or Off in left side > enable Client TFTP then click in OK.
  3. Disable the WIFI on your computer.
  4. Set the LAN Port on your computer to use a static IP in the 192.168.1.xxx range.  Do not use 1, 2 or 20 for xxx.  I normally use 100.
  5. In order to keep the LAN connection open on the computer it is best to use an Ethernet switch between the node and the computer.  Connect a Cat 5 cable between a LAN Port on the node and the Switch and a second Cat 5 cable between the switch and the LAN Port on your computer.
  6. In windows explorer navigate to the directory where you placed the firmware file.  Right click on the file name and select properties.  Highlight the file name and type control-v to copy the file name to the clipboard.
  7. Open a command prompt (Start, All Programs, Accessories, Command Prompt) on your computer.
  8. In the command prompt window, type but do not press enter TFTP –I 192.168.1.1 put.
  9. With the cursor in the command prompt window right click your mouse to paste the name of the firmware file into the command.  Do Not Press Enter yet.
  10. Here is the tricky part.  Remove the power from your node, wait a few seconds and plug it back in.  About ½ second later, hit enter on the computer to run the TFPT command.  You are trying to hit about a small window in the boot up sequence that is about ½ second long. If the TFTP command times out, repeat steps 8 -10 waiting just a little bit longer or shorter to hit enter.
  11. Once you hit the window with TFTP command, the node will upload the new firmware and reboot.  It should come back up with the factory firmware on it.

 

I hope you will find these instructions useful.  This same process can also be used with a BBHN .bin file to reload the firmware on a node that you have lost or forgotten the password.

IP Logged
 Subject :Re:Restoring Linksys firmware on a node.. 2015-01-12- 20:30:30 
k5dlq
Member
Joined: 2012-05-11- 08:05:13
Posts: 233
Location: Magnolia, TX USA
 
Great write-up Clint. Another option to "re-purpose" these Linksys routers is to load DD-WRT on them. Chances are, it's going to be more secure than the Linksys provided firmware and definitely has moe features.
IP Logged
Darryl - K5DLQ
www.aredn.org
 Subject :Re:Restoring Linksys firmware on a node.. 2016-08-08- 20:04:37 
N6VMO
Member
Joined: 2016-08-06- 17:21:10
Posts: 2
Location
I can't seem to get the WRT54G to reset and use 192.168.1.1 What am I doing wrong?
IP Logged
 Subject :Re:Restoring Linksys firmware on a node.. 2016-08-28- 06:24:11 
2E0SUR
Member
Joined: 2016-08-05- 11:17:23
Posts: 6
Location
Im having exactly the same problem with 2 that I have. They wont reset no matter what I do. when I do ipconfig, it shows me everything bu the default gateway on both of the routers. I have another one here which was no problem at all, however, the default gateway showed the IP address of 192.168.0.1 Anyone know the solution?
IP Logged
 Subject :Re:Restoring Linksys firmware on a node.. 2016-08-28- 09:25:28 
N6VMO
Member
Joined: 2016-08-06- 17:21:10
Posts: 2
Location
I had to resort to using my Raspberry Pi to connect to the WRT54G serial port. Then upload new firmware via TFTP. It wasn't easy, but it worked. http://50.185.157.185:8083/www/wrt54g_console.jpg
IP Logged
 Subject :Re:Restoring Linksys firmware on a node.. 2016-08-28- 15:23:01 
2E0SUR
Member
Joined: 2016-08-05- 11:17:23
Posts: 6
Location
Thanks for the heads up on that and the photograph is useful. I better get the raspberry pi out!
IP Logged
 Subject :Re:Restoring Linksys firmware on a node.. 2016-08-28- 15:23:05 
2E0SUR
Member
Joined: 2016-08-05- 11:17:23
Posts: 6
Location
Thanks for the heads up on that and the photograph is useful. I better get the raspberry pi out!
IP Logged
 Subject :Re:Restoring Linksys firmware on a node.. 2016-08-28- 15:23:57 
2E0SUR
Member
Joined: 2016-08-05- 11:17:23
Posts: 6
Location
Thanks for the heads up on that and the photograph is useful. I better get the raspberry pi out!
IP Logged
 Subject :Re:Restoring Linksys firmware on a node.. 2016-08-28- 15:26:19 
2E0SUR
Member
Joined: 2016-08-05- 11:17:23
Posts: 6
Location
Thanks for the heads up on that and the photograph is useful. I better get the raspberry pi out!
IP Logged
Page # 


Powered by ccBoard


SPONSORED AD: